Azam Sports win Hussain Baloch Football final

Azam Sports (Zone West) beat Malir Union 2-1 in the final of the All-Karachi Muhammad Hussain Baloch Memorial Tapal Tezdum Football Tournament to be awarded the winners trophy in front of a capacity crowd at Old Thana Ground, Malir. Shahid Khan and Muhammad Kamran scored for winning side while Ayaz scored the lone goal for Malir Union. In the semi-finals, Azam Sports had beaten All Brothers Malir 2-0 while Malir Union had beaten Azad XI 1-0 to reach to reach the final.

In the prize distribution, Malir Union striker Muhammad Asif was declared best player of tournament while Azam Sports’ Shahid Khan was best goalkeeper. Referees were Abdul Latif Baloch, Muhammad Saleem, Ahmed Mian, and Abdul Ghani while match commissioner was Master Abdul Rahim.

“Malir National FC shall be given all necessary helps to provide for its own football ground. The way Malir National helped organise this tournament, its success can be gauged with the abilities of its players and officials responsible for it. We will try our utmost for the promotion of football in Malir district and work together with Malir National to help organise further tournaments in near future”. These views were expressed by former provincial minister Abdul Hakim Baloch at the concluding ceremony as well as presenting winners trophy to Azam captain Shahid Khan and runners-up trophy to Malir Union captain Munir Ahmed. The players were gifted with track suits while guests were presented with honorary shields and Sindhi ajrak shawls.

Abdul Razzaq Raja, President of PPP Malir district, also expressed his desire to help facilitate the provision of ground to the tournament hosts. Tournament organising secretary Rafique Baloch accepted a cheque of Rs 100,000 from Noman Abdullah Murad on behalf of the family of late Hussain Baloch and expressed his thanks for the sponsors’ generosity and support.

Also present on this occasion were Fateh Muhammad Baloch (Chairman, Malir National), Murad Bakhsh Baloch (Secretary Zone South), Rahim Bakhsh Baloch (Secretary Zone West), Muhammad Rahim (Secretary Zone East), Syed Usman Shah (Joint Sec. Zone EAST), Riaz Ahmed (football journalist), Usman Baloch, Dr Abdul Hameed, Saleem Arif, Khalid Majeed, Shahid Taj, Javed Taj, alongside various other political, social, and football personalities from the region.