Pakistan to face Chinese Taipei in consolation game

Chinese Taipei FA

Lahore, 24 March: Chinese Taipei coach Lo Chih-Tsung will field full strength side to face Pakistan when both the teams will face each other in the fourth AFC Challenge Cup Qualifiers (Group-B) on Friday, 25 March 2011 at MBJP Stadium, Petaling Jaya, Malaysia. It will be third and final match for both teams.

Lo included both the scorers who scored against Pakistan in recent matches of same event. Lo Chih-an was scorer in 2008 edition at Chungshan Soccer Stadium, Taipei on 2 April 2008 when they lost 1-2 to Pakistan while Chang Han was goal getter in 2009 show on 4 April that ended 1-1 at Sugathadasa Stadium, Colombo.

Chinese Taipei enter the AFC Challenge Cup qualifiers by beating Laos 6-3 on aggregate in play-off on 10 and 16 February 2011 at Laos National Stadium, Kaohsiung and National Sports Complex, Vientiane. Their six goals were scored by Chang Han 2, Chen Po-liang 2, Lo Chih-an, Lin Cheng-yi and all four will face Pakistan at MBJP Stadia. Chen Po-liang is a Taiwanese midfielder and captain who currently plays for Hong Kong First Division League side TSW Pegasus FC.

Asian Football Confederation (AFC) launched the competition five years ago in efforts to develop the game in the continent’s ’emerging’ football nations. Unlike the AFC Presidents Cup, the AFC Challenge Cup is a competition for national teams. “The emerging countries need time to catch up and close the gap on the more advanced nations in Asia. It is hoped that the new competition will enlarge awareness about football in these countries and accelerate the game’s development there,” said PFF President Makhdoom Syed Faisal Saleh Hayat who got the privilege of getting Chairman AFC Legal Committee post at KL’s AFC ExCo Meet recently.

When Pakistan faced Chinese Taipei three years ago in second AFC Challenge Cup Qualifiers, it was after a lapse of 50 years in international soccer arena that both the teams had faced each other. The first Meet between the two was filed on 25 May 1958 during third Asian Games when Taiwan, representing China, brought off 3-1 win at Tokyo.

The Chinese Taipei national football team is the official name given by FIFA to the national football team of the Republic of China (Taiwan).

FIFA-ranked 171 Pakistan is not far behind all three teams of Group-B in monthly FIFA World Ranking as compared to India (145), Chinese Taipei (147) and Turkmenistan (154).

The two teams are.

Pakistan :

Goalkeepers: Amir Gul (NBP), Muhammad Omar (KESC)

Defenders: Manzoor Ahmed (WAPDA), Alamgir Khan (Police), Atif Bashir Qureshi (Barry Town, Wales), Samar Ishaq (KRL) CAP, Zeeshan Rehman (Muangthong United FC, Thailand),

Midfielders: Faisal Iqbal (NBP), Syed Arif Hussain (WAPDA), Muhammad Adil (KRL), Mahmood Khan (KRL), Kashif Mumtaz Siddiqui (Fresno Fuego, USA), Abdul Aziz (NBP) VC, Nasr Ullah Khan (PIA), Adnan Farooq Ahmed (Aboomoslem FC, Iran),

Strikers : Jadeed Khan Pathan (WAPDA), Rizwan Asif (KRL), Kalim Ullah (KRL), Imran Niazi (WAPDA), Arif Mehmood (WAPDA), Muhammad Qasim (KRL).

Coach : Tariq Lutfi

Chinese Taipei :

Goal keepers: Kuang-Tien Chung, Chih-Hsin Tsai, Po-Cheng Lin

Defenders: Shan-Fu Chen,Yung-Hsien Chang, Cheng-Yi Lin, Yu-Lin Chen, Yi-Wei Chen, Chao-Hsun Yang

Mid fielders: Hsien-Tang Tsai, Che-Yuan chan, Chih-An Lo, Po-Liang Chen ©, Ming-Han Chiang, Kai-Chun Hung, Chi-Chao Liu, Cheng-Tsung Huang, Tzu-Jung Huang, Wu Pai-Ho

Strikers: Han Chang, Chih-En Lo, Chun-Ching Wu, Chen Po-Hao

Coach : Chih-Tsung Lo, Manager : Chun-Lung Wang

Friday Fixture:

Turkmenistan v India (4 PM) Pakistan v Chinese Taipei (7.30 PM)(kick-off times are local)



( Deadline : 24 March 2011)
Date         Event                    Venue          Scores  
1958         Asian Games             Tokyo           Pak 1 CT 3
2008         AFC Challenge           Taipei          Pak 2 CT 1
2009         AFC Challenge           Colombo         Pak 1 CT 1



AFC Challenge Cup 2011-12 (Results, Coming Matches)

Group A (Youth Training Centre, Myanmar)
21 March: Myanmar 1 Philippines 1, Palestine 2 Bangladesh 0
23 March: Philippines 0 Palestine, 0, Bangladesh 2 Myanmar 0
25 March : Bangladesh v Philippines, Myanmar-Palestine

Group B (MBPJ Stadium, Petaling Jaya, Malaysia)
21 March: Turkmenistan 3 Pakistan 0, India 3 Chinese Taipei 0
23 March: Chinese Taipei 0 Turkmenistan 2, Pakistan 1 India 3
25 March: Pakistan v Chinese Taipei, Turkmenistan v India

Group C (National Stadium, Male, Maldives)
21 March: Tajikistan 1 Kyrgyzstan 0, Maldives 4 Cambodia 0
23 March: Kyrgyzstan 1 Maldives 2, Cambodia 0 Tajikistan 3
25 March: Tajikistan-Maldives, Cambodia-Kyrgyzstan

Group D (Dashrath & Halchowk Stadium, Nepal)
07 April : N Korea-Sri Lanka, Nepal v Winner Play-Off 1
09 April : Nepal-N Korea, Sri Lanka-Winner Play-Off
11 April : Nepal-Sri Lanka, N.Korea-Winner Play-Off 1