24 teams to partake in 4th National Women Club Championship 2011

Lahore, 25 March : Pakistan Football Federation (PFF)’s Makhdoom Syed Faisal Saleh Hayat has approved 24 teams for 4th National Women Football Club Championship 2011 to be held from 6-13 April 2011 simultaneously at four zones viz Karachi, Lahore, Islamabad and Peshawar.

The top two teams of each zone will travel into 7th National Women Championship slated to run at Islamabad’s Jinnah Stadium from 17-30 September 2011. The field for qualification expanded to eight from four. The four qualifiers last year were Frontier College of Peshawar, Karachi’s Diya FC, Lahore’s Sport Sciences and Rawalpindi’s Young Rising Star. It was sensational when Rawalpindi girls went on to win the National Women title, brushing aside WAPDA 2-0 in the 5th August final.

Robina Irfan,on right, Chairperson PFF Women Committee, with Pakistan Women football team manager Nadia Naqvi

Robina Irfan, PFF Women Committee Chairperson, hailed efforts of PFF President Makhdoom Syed Faisal Saleh Hayat for promotion of football in the country and steps for Women soccer boost and termed it “Landmark”, something out of nothing, “Countries like Pakistan are free to promote women’s soccer within the limits of their culture and religion.

“Considering the reality that football is being played less in girls’ schools and women colleges, the appearance of 24 teams in fourth edition of National Women Club Championship is a great achievement for PFF, which is due to Makhdoom Faisal Hayat`s efforts and his devotion with football,’ said Robina Irfan who added that clubs play an important role to promote any game, so women`s clubs will be developed at every city and PFF will provide technical support and guidance on a regular basis to club’s management.

Robina Irfan and Farishtay Ali Sharifi were elected Chairperson and Vice Chairperson respectively during last Congress. Both, Robina and Sharifi, also earned the honour of becoming PFF Congress member alongwith two Women clubs – National Women Champions Young Rising Star (Rawalpindi) and Diya Women FC (Karachi).

The future of women football is bright and the confirmation of 24 clubs with PFF’s event is a healthy sign. The officials of local clubs are playing their part effectively while the birth of organizational teams will help us to make mind for the Pakistan Premier Women Football League in near future,” stated Robina.

The 24 participants of 4th National Women Club Championship

Peshawar(7): Frontier College, United, Peshawar FC, Spark FC, Chamkani FC, Striker FC, Charsadda Fc

Lahore (6): Model Town Club, LUMS, Sports Sciences, Fatima Club, Lahore Fighters, LGS JT

Karachi (4) : Diya, Karachi Women, Marta Women, Karachi Kickers

Vehari (1): Vehari United

Rawalpindi (1): Young Rising Star

Islamabad (1): Margala FC

Takht Bhai (1) : Takht Bhai FC

Abbottabad (1) : : Hazara Star

Nowshera (1): GGHSS Dak Ismail Khel