Karachi football round-up

[Source: Riaz Ahmed, veteran football journalist]


The All-Karachi Hussain Baloch Benefit Memorial Football Tournament hosted by Malir National FC witnessed 3 matches at Old Thana Ground Malir. According to organising secretary Rafique Baloch, Drigh Road XI beat Adil Sports Malir 2-0 with goals from Rizwan and Faiz. Jam XI Malir beat Irfan Memorial Landhi 4-3 on penalties after game finished 0-0 in normal time. Arif, Imdad, Majeed, and Ibrahim scored their penalties for Jam XI while only Inam, Zahoor, and Shoaib could convert their tries for Irfan Memorial. Baloch Mohammadan Malir beat Sharafi Star also 4-3 on penalties after a 0-0 score. Latif, Shahid, Wajid, Aroos converted for Baloch Mohmd. while Jalal, Zia, and Amin could only score for Sharafi Star. The winning sides qualified for Round of 32. Referees were Abdul Latif, Muhammad Salim, Nabi Bakhsh, Abdul Ghafoor, and Muhammad Asif while match commissioner was Master Abdul Rahim and media coordinator Khalid Majeed.


Hosted by Rizwan Sports (Central), the All-Karachi Zahid Memorial Football Tournament witnessed both semi-finals being played. Zone Central’s Young Azizabad beat Friends FC 2-0 in first semi-final with both goals from Meraj in second half. Former international Saleem Patni met the two sides during half-time break as chief guest. The second semi-final between Jahangir Memorial (Central) and Al-Ghazi FC Korangi proved to be a tense affair as the game finished 0-0 at end of normal time. Penalties were to decide the winner as both sides ended up taking 10 penalties each with Jahangir Memorial eventually winning 10-9 in shootout. The final of Zahid Memorial will be played on 2nd January 2011 between Young Azizabad and Jahangir Memorial with a 4 PM kick off.


The All-Dalmia Champions Trophy Football Tournament witnessed two matches being drawn at Lal Sports Stadium in Dalmia, Karachi. Yaseen Star and Gharib Nawaz drew 2-2 with Amir Siddiqui and Naseer Hussain scoring for Yaseen Star while Saeed Baloch and Zubair Ahmed scoring for Gharib Nawaz. In another game, Yaseen Star drew 0-0 with Green Mujahid. All teams mentioned earned 1 point each. The 6 Dalmia clubs are facing each other on single-league format organised by Abid Meher.


Zonal FA Karachi East secretary Muhammad Rahim announced the transfer window for players between Zone East clubs from 1st till 15th January 2011. Any Zone East club interested in transfering players to and from other clubs should get transfer forms from District Office at Korangi Rangers FC in Korangi Dhai from 5 PM till 9 PM. All finalised player transfers should be shown at District Office between 3 PM and 11 PM on 16th January 2011. Secretary East M. Rahim has made Syed Usman Shah as incharge of Transfer Committee while Zamir-ul-Islam, Ajmal Khattak, Qayyum Laasi, Jamil Baloch, H.M. Hanif, Capt. Shahbaz, and M. Jamil were made committee members.