Maria Khan to lead Pakistan in SAFF Women’s C’ship

Maria Khan to lead Pakistan in SAFF Women’s C’ship

The Pakistan Football Federation (PFF) Normalisation Committee today announced the final 23-players squad of the Pakistan women’s national team for next month’s 2022 SAFF Women’s Championship in Nepal.

UAE-based Pakistani-American midfielder Maria Khan has been named captain of the squad with Malika e Noor named as vice-captain.

Initially, the 35 players were invited for the training camp, where they were trained under supervision of head coach Adeel Rizki. The camp commenced in the first week of this month in Lahore and the final team, comprising 23 players, was then announced by the NC on Friday, August 26.

Pakistan WNT makes a long awaited return to international football having last played back in the 2014 SAFF Women’s Championship hosted in Islamabad.

In the 2022 edition, Pakistan are in Group A with tourney favourites India, Bangladesh, and Maldives. Pakistan’s first match will be against India on September 7th, followed by matches against Bangladesh (Sep 10), and Maldives (Sept 13).

Pakistan WNT squad: Maria Khan (captain), Malika-e-Noor (vc), Alina Ispahani, Anmol Hira, Atiqa Nasir, Ghazala Amir, Hajra Khan, Khadija Kazmi, Maliha Nasir, Marvi Baig, Mishal Bhatti, Nadia Khan, Nisha Ashraf, Nizalia Siddiqui, Rameen Fareed, Roshnan Ali, Sahar Zaman, Sara Khan, Shani Shahida, Shanzay Nazir, Suha Hirani, Syeda Mahpara and Zulfia Nazir.

Team management: Adeel Rizki (Coach), Walid Javaid Khan (Assistant Coach) and Ahsanullah Khan (GK Coach)