Peshawar Football League: Sarkar defeats City Eagles, clinch trophy [Pakistan Today]

Peshawar Football League: Sarkar defeats City Eagles, clinch trophy [Pakistan Today]

PESHAWAR: DC Peshawar Sarkar clinched the trophy after defeating City Eagles in the final of the Peshawar Football League-2017 played here at Qayyum Sports Complex on Tuesday.

Before the start of the final, the players of the two finalist teams – Deputy Commissioner Peshawar Sarkar and the City Eagles of the City University – were introduced. The final match was started on fast tempo and soon it was in the fourth minute when Hamza Shinwari netted a fine goal through field attempt.

Hamza got a free from mid-fielder Khalid and quickly zoomed into the danger zone where Hamza slammed a beautiful goal to make the tally 1-0. It was a good combine move which ended on an early lead taken by the DC Peshawar Sarkar. After taking the lead, DC Peshawar Sarkar put in more pressure to double the lead but they were failed as the City Eagles mostly dominated the play and position of ball.

The City Eagles also got two easy goal-scoring chances but first Umar Zaib and secondly Hussain missed the target due to poor handling of the ball in front of the box area. At half-time, DC Peshawar Sarkar was leading by 1-0. It was the second session in which the City Eagles got a good start and in the first 10-minute play made some good rallies of attacks but failed to score any goal.

Due to poor handling of the ball, the City Eagles failed to level the tally and thus giving a key chance to the DC Peshawar Sarkar team to dominate. It was in the 56th minute when Mohsin doubled the lead through field attempt.

Mohsin along with Hamza and Afaq exchanged the ball by reaching in the danger zone and at the end Hamza gave a free ball to unmark Mohsin who did nothing wrong in dispatching it into the net to make tally 2-0. After 2-0 DC Peshawar Sarkar dominated the proceedings and did not give much room to the City Eagles to strike back and quickly succeeded to score another goal to make the tally 3-0.

Afaq, who also tied the best scoring award with Javed of the City Eagles, scored the third goal through field attempt. Afaq and Javed scored five goals each but the best scoring award was given to Javed, who also made the first-hat-trick of the tournament. Alliuddin supervised the match while Zeeshan and Abid acted as deputy referees while Qazi Asif acted as match commissioner.

At the end of the match, Additional Commissioner Saira Khan along with Azizullah, Basit Kamal, Qazi Asif, Gul Haider and Haji Hidayatullah gave away winners and runners-up trophy with Rs 100,000 awarded to the winners and Rs 50,000 awarded to the runners-up. Akbar of DC Peshawar was declared best player of the tournament, Jawad got the best emerging player, Syed Imtiaz Ali got best referee award, Faisal Javed got best coach award as all of them awarded Rs. 5000 cash prizes.

Published in Pakistan Today, 5 December 2017