KUSC 2013 quarterfinalists decided

The 8th Karachi United Schools Football Championship 2013 saw the completion of its pre-quarterfinal stage on 5 Feb 2013 at the Aga Khan Gymkhana Ground in Garden West, Karachi.

The final two games of the round were between Bayview College vs Lyceum School and The City School PAF vs Bahria College.

In 7th pre-quarterfinal, Bayview College caused the 2nd upset of the event as they beat 5th KUSC edition winners Lyceum School 2-0 to qualify for the quarter-finals.

Bayview College defied expectations as they gave no space to Lyceum School the entire game. Goals from Muazan Haq and Abdul Wasi in either half helped Bayview secure an impressive victory at the expense of the former winners.

The last pre-quarterfinal was closely fought between TCS PAF and Bahria College as both sides played impressive football yet failed to find the net in both normal and extra time periods. The penalty shoot out was hence used to decide the winners.

City School PAF, coached by Zaman Ghani, kept their cool as Waleed, Daniyal, Ali Asghar, Naveed, and Muhammad Afridi scored from the spot. Bahria College could only respond from Hamza, Waleed, Hamza Ayaz, and Daniyal with Jameel’s miss giving City School PAF the win in the shootout 5-4.

The results meant that Bayview College and City School PAF joined Aga Khan Higher Secondary School (AKHSS), St Patrick’s High School, COMMECS College, Army Public School, Southshore, and defending champions Nixor College in the quarteferfinal round.

Referees were Dad Rehman, Abdul Hafeez, Saleem Hussain, M Anwar, Abdul Malik, and match commissioner Khalid Majeed.

Burma Mohammadan (Korangi) reached the quarter-finals of the 7th All Pakistan National Bank Football Cup 2013 being held at Colony Sports Stadium in Malir, Karachi. They beat DFA Central’s Azam Nagar FC 3-2 on penalties after a tense 0-0 draw at end of normal time.

The quarterfinals begin on Thursday 7 Feb 2013 with DG Rangers Cup winners Azam Sports (Drigh Road) facing Shaheed Eid Muhammad FC (Helmand) and Khyber Muslim (Baldia Town) facing Burma Mohammadan.


The All Pakistan Shaheed Benazir Bhutto Football Cup saw FC Rovers (Malir Cantt) qualify for next round with a 2-1 win over Baloch Union (DFA West). Waqar and Hamza Shahid scored for FC Rovers while Amin responded for Baloch Union.

In another game, Jamil Shaheed FC (DFA East) beat Sindh Balochistan FC (DFA West) 1-0 with a goal from Aman. Sarhad Sports (Malir) beat Baloch FC Malir 4-3 on penalties after a 0-0 draw.