Salaar Welfare Centre win in Engro Vopak League

Salaar Welfare Centre (Malir) edged past Mauripur Azad 3-2 today, 31 January 2012, to open their account in the 2012 All-Karachi Engro Vopak Football League – organised by FC Rovers (Malir Cantt) – at Jam Stadium, Malir.

The tense Group-B clash saw Salaar WC battle hard to beat DFA West champions Mauripur Azad and earn 3 precious points. Salaar Welfare Centre went 1-0 up in 14th minute when Amin Chottu scored from a Abdul Hameed pass past the Mauripur Azad goalkeeper. The score remained same at half time.

In 2nd half, the match picked up pace as 4 goals were scored in last 45 minutes. Salaar WC’s star striker Abdul Haleem made it 2-0 in 48th minute with a 25-yard piledriver. But Mauripiur Azad’s M Aslam scored from an Asad Rasheed pass in 65th minute, making it 2-1. However, just 4 minutes later Abdul Haleem pounced on a mistake from Mauripur Azad’s defence to make it 3-1 for Salaar WC when he blasted home from 20 yards out past hapless goalie Abdul Hameed.

Asif Raza then scored arguably the best goal of the match in 78th minute for Mauripur Azad when his 25-yard screamer went past Salaar WC goalie Adeel Rasheed, making the score 3-2. The goal gave Mauripur Azad the morale boost to go forward in search of an equaliser but Salaar Welfare Centre’s defence of Amjad Ali, Faiz Ahmed, M Aslam, Asif Raza held firm against continued attacks.

In the end, Salaar WC held on for a tight 3-2 win. Referees were M Umar Baloch, Babar Khan, Anees Akhtar, Arif Hameed, and match commissioner Abdul Karim, while match doctor was Shah Jahan Baloch. Salaar WC’s star striker Abdul Haleem was declared man of the match and was given a Rs 500 cash prize from the sponsors by chief guest Ubaidullah Khan – DFA East secretary.

On Thursday, 2 Feb 2012, Irfan Memorial (Landhi) face Dilbod Mohammadan (Malir).