Reflections Inter-School Tourney finishes group stage

The 2nd All-Karachi Reflections Inter-School Football Tournament 2012 saw completion of its group stage today, 19 January 2012 at Reflections School Ground in Korangi Crossing, Karachi.

Host team Reflections School beat Bay View Academy 2-1, Korangi Academy smashed Karachi Public School 6-0, City School North Nazimabad beat Beaconhouse Jubilee 2-1, City School Darakhshan beat Jaffar Public School 4-0 to become their respective group’s winners and qualify for the semi-finals. Reflections now face TCS North Nazimabad, while Korangi Academy face TCS Darakhshan in semi-finals.

Reflections went 2-0 courtesy of two quick-fire goals from Mustafa Adnan (31′) and Usama Majeed (32′), with only Riyan Bawani (37′) managing a response for Bay View Academy as the hosts won 2-1 at the end. Korangi Academy smashed Karachi Public School with another amazing performance as goals from Muhammad Hanif (2), Ali Hamza, Abdul Wahid, Yasir Ayaz, and Hamdan sealed their passage to semis.

City School North Nazimabad and Beaconhouse Jubilee played a tense affair as Hamid Cheema gave BSS Jubilee a 1-0 lead after 7 minutes. But TCS North Nazimabad came back strongly in 2nd half as Hamza Haq equalised from the penalty spot in 32nd minute and then made it 2-1 just two minutes later with the decisive goal of the match to send TCS North Nazimabad through to semis. City School Darakhshan dominated Jaffar Public School 4-0 thanks to a splendid hat-trick from Farhad Ejaz (19′,38′,39′) after Ahmed Iqbal put his side 1-0 up after 10 minutes played. TCS Darakhshan guaranteed their spot in the semis with this win.

Previous group games saw Karachi Public School beat Headstart School 3-1. Goals from Mudassar Iqbal (9′), Maqsood Ibrahim (29′), and Areeb Ahmed (37′) helped KPS record the win, while only Talha (31′) managed a goal for Headstart. Bay View Academy beat Education Bay High School 2-0 with goals from Basil Agha (7′) and Qadir Lutfullah (32′) in other game.

Referees were Riaz Ahmed, Habib Ullah, Babar Khan, referees inspector Khalid Majeed, and match commissioner Abdul Karim.