BFF announces team for SAFF Cup

Dhaka, BANGLADESH – Bangladesh Football Federation (BFF) has announced final 20 players for the upcoming South Asian Football Federation (SAFF) Championship scheduled to to commence in Delhi from December 2. BFF included three U-19 players Shahedul Alam Shahed, Shah Alamgir Anik and Abdul Malek. All three players would be making their debut in the senior team.

The surprise omission was midfielder Shakil Ahmed from the 27-member preliminary squad. Mithun Chowdhury made in the final list after his recall.

Nikola Ilievski, the head coach, expressed confidence over the squad.

“The team is a mix of youth and experience; I hope they will cope with the challenge”

Defender Sujan will captain the Bangladesh team in the SAFF Championship while Ariful Islam Arif will be the vice-captain.

Final 20 players:

Goalkeeper: Mamun Khan, Biplob Bhattyacharjee, Md. Shahidul Alam Sohel.

Defence: Nasirul Islam Nasir, , Md. Sujan, Mamun Mia, Ariful Islam Arif, Rezaul Karim Reza.

Midfield: Pranotosh Kumar Das, Mezbabul Haque Manik, Emon Ahmed Babu, Shahedul Alam Shahed, Mamunul Islam Mamun, Abdul Baten Mazumdar Komol, Atiqur   Rahman Meshu,

Strikers: Towhidul Alam Towhid, Shah Alamgir Anik, Zahid Hasan Emily, Md. Abdul Malek and Mithun Chowdhury.s and go ahead,” said the Macedonian.