AKU win AKU Inter-University Futsal final

Karachi: The final of the 7th Aga Khan University (AKU) Inter-University Futsal Tournament was played yesterday at the AKU Sports Centre Futsal Court.  Host Aga Khan University (AKU) Team clinched the Futsal Trophy beating Institute of Business Management (IoBM) by 4–3 score.

Rehan Munir from Karachi United FC was the star for AKU with a 4 goal burst as they won the final over a tough IoBM side led by FC Rovers (Malir) star Irfan Junejo.

The Chief Guest Dr. Rizwan Azami, Associate Professor, Department of Surgery, AKU in presence of Riaz Akbar Contractor, Chief Organizer and Manager AKU Sports Centre and Hanif M. Shariff, Sr. Manager Administrative Services, AKU distributed the prizes among the players.  The AKU Captain Jalaluddin Umar received the Winning Trophy while IoBM Skipper Usman Iqbal received the Runner’s-up Trophy.

Rehan Munir of AKU was awarded the Best Player of the tournament while four special Consolation Prizes were given to Valeed Kidwai of IoBM, Abdul Jaleel of DUHS, Sufiyan Mir of Greenwich University and Bilal Khan of AKU for demonstrating excellent skills in the Futsal Tournament.

The Chief Guest Dr. Rizwan Azami paid tributes to the efforts of AKU Sports Centre Organizers for organizing such healthy activities especially for the youths and congratulated both the teams on their success. He emphasized to the Organizers that such Tournaments should be arranged on regular basis for the promotion of Futsal amongst the youth.

Mr. Riaz Akbar Contractor, Chief Organizer and Manager AKU Sports Centre thanked the guests, the participating teams and the technical officials for all the support in organizing the successful tournament.




AKU won the match, Score  04,  03  Goals. At half time, Score was 02 – 00 Goals in favour of AKU.


Individual Score of Winner Team

1. REHAN MUNIR 04 GOALS (in 18th, 19th, 24th and 39th minutes),While 1.  IRFAN JUNEJO 02 GOALS (in 23rd and 37th minute) 2.  HAMZA AZEEM 01 GOAL (in 24th minute) was the scorer for looser.


The matches were supervised by Referee Mehboob Rehman official scorer Sajjad Akbar and match commissioner Munawar Ali.