National Women Championship 2011 begins in Islamabad

The 7th National Women Football Championship 2011 began on Monday, 18 Sept 2011 in Islamabad when Punjab beat Balochistan 2-0 at Jinnah Sports Complex on early morning kick-off.  Aqsa opened the scoring for Punjab after just 3 minutes, and Punjab’s lead was doubled 13 minutes later when Tahira made it 2-0.

In second match, Islamabad beat Pakistan Army 5-0 in a one sided game. Goal scorers were captain Mejzgaan Orakzai, Abiha Haider, Asna, and a brace from Samantha. The match was also attended by the Brazilian ambassador to Pakistan who met the PFF officials as well as the girls from both teams.

In third game, defending champions Young Rising Star (Rawalpindi) completely demolished Margala WFC with a staggering 25-0 scoreline! Star player Malaika Noor scored a whopping 14 goals in a single game! Sahar Zaman had 5, Asmara had 3, Roshnan Ali with 2, and Sana Mehmood with 1 goal each.

A total of 16 teams are participating from across Pakistan, with defending champions Young Rising Star WFC (Rawalpindi) among them.


National Women Championship 2011 draws and fixtures

On 20 Sept 2011, 4 games were played. Sports Sciences beat Model Town WFC by a narrow 1-0 score thanks to a goal from Ishrat after 34 minutes. Higher Education Commission (HEC) beat Khyber Pakhtunkhwa 2-0 with 2nd half goals from Razia and a Rabia Zaman penalty.

WAPDA ladies then joined the free scoring fun when they beat Azad Jammu Kashmir (AJK) with a 18-0 scoreline.  Shabana Kausar score 4, Rafia Perveen scored 3, Aqeela Naseem score 5, Azra Nasir scored 3, and Shakeela, Mahwish, Shagufta scored 1 goal each.

Balochistan United then beat Sindh 5-0 with a hat-trick from Riffat and a brace from Shaida.