PFF Gen. Secretary to attend AFC Youth Committee moot

Lahore, June 15, 2011

Secretary General Pakistan Football Federation (PFF) Lt. Col. ( R ) Ahmed Yar Khan Lodhi is leaving today for Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia to attend the 1st meeting of the Organising Committee for AFC Youth Competitions Committee for the term 2011-2015 schedule for 17 June 2011.

According to a press release issued here today, Myanmar, Maldives, Australia, Pakistan, Indonesia, Vietnam, Cambodia, Tajkistan, Oman, Afghanistan, Iraq and Nepal are the members of AFC Youth Competitions Committee.

The Asian Football Confederation (AFC) is the governing body of Asian football and one of the six Confederations making up FIFA. AFC has 46 Member Associations and these represent more than half of the world’s population. In fact, just India and China have more than 2.5 billion people.

The AFC was formed in 1954. Its headquarters is in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. The AFC is responsible for running football in Asia. Among its various responsibilities are: regulating the game, drafting new laws to improve the sport, implementing the law, boosting grassroots and youth football, and conducting major competitions.

The current President of AFC is Mohamed Bin Hammam, who is from Qatar. AFC’s 46 Member Associations has four zone; The East region has China, Hong Kong, DPR Korea, Korea Republic, Guam, Japan, Chinese Taipei, Macau and Mongolia. The West has Iraq, Bahrain, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Oman, Palestine, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Syria, UAE and Yemen.

In the South and Central zone are Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Iran, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan and Uzbekistan. Last but not the least, the ASEAN zone has Australia, Brunei, Cambodia, Timor-Leste, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, The Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam.