Raiders Club to host D.G. Khan/Sahiwal tie in Punjab Games

Lahore, 6 April : DG Khan will take on Sahiwal at 8 AM and Multan will face Gujranwala at 3 PM when 71st Punjab Games Football Tournament will commence at Kotha Pind’s Raiders FC Ground, Faisal Town, Lahore on Thursday, 7 April 2011.

According to President of Lahore District Football Association Mian Rizwan Ali the initial matches of three-day football event allotted to Raiders FC Ground following a tremendous All Punjab Raiders Cup recently. However, the final and bronze medal decided will be staged at Model Town Football Academy Ground.

The 71st Punjab Games, after being postponed four times, have finally made it to the calendar .The general council of the Punjab Olympics Association (PbOA) finalised the dates of the Punjab Games while also announcing that the 32nd National Games 2012 will be held between October 21 to 27 next

The Punjab Olympic Association (POA) is organising the 71st Punjab Games Altogether nine regions of Punjab including Rawalpindi, Lahore, Faisalabad, Multan, Sahiwal, Bahawalpur, Gujranwala, Dera Ghazi Khan and Sargodha will participate in the games. Men will take part in 18 disciplines while women will display their talent in eight events.

Lahore has won the 70th Punjab Games in 2007 with 27 Gold, 34 Silver, 70 Bronze. Runners up were Faisalabad and Gujranwala achieved third position. Closing ceremony then was held in Punjab Stadium, in which Governor Punjab closed the games with the promise to get together once again to maintain the harmony and peaceful environment between all districts.

PFA President Muhammad Arshad Khan Lodhi will be chief guest on concluding day. “The friendly atmosphere prevailed throughout the duration of the Games, which will be inaugurated with the hopes of bringing the all districts of Punjab together. The districts share a common history and culture, with many people on every side of the districts related to one another.” said Rizwan Ali


7 April : DG Khan v Sahiwal (8 AM), Multan v Gujranwala (3 PM) at Raiders FC Ground

8 April : Lahore v Winner Multan/Gujranwala (8 AM), Faisalabad v DG Khan/Sahiwal (3 PM) at Raiders FC Ground

9 April : Bronze Medal Match (8 AM), Final (10 AM) at MTFA Ground