PFF announce format for 2011 National Challenge Cup

Lahore, 6 April : Pakistan Football Federation (PFF) has announced Competition System for the National Bank Football Cup to be played from 14-27 April 2011 at Faisalabad.

According to PFF Operation Cell, the Competition shall consist of two stages: Group Stage (league system) and Knock-out Stage (quarter-finals, semi-finals and finals)

The sixteen teams in Group Stage shall be divided into four groups of four teams each with three points will be awarded for a win, one point for a draw and zero point for a loss.

The Organizing Committee for 14-day show divide the teams into groups by drawing lots during 13th April Manager’s meeting at 5 PM, whilst taking sports, geographic and economic factors into consideration, as far as possible.

The teams in the four groups shall be designated as follows:

Group A : A1,A2,A3,A4
Group B : B1,B2,B3,B4
Group C : C1,C2,C3,C4
Group D : D1,D2,D3,D4

The following match sequence applies (the number designates the position drawn in each group on 15 April Meet) with matches to be held from 14 to 21 April 2011.

1st Match day: 1 v 2, 3 v 4
2nd Match day: 2 v 3, 1 v 4
3rd Match day: 1 v 3, 2 v 4

The teams ranked first and second in each group qualify for the quarter-finals and the eight teams that advance from the group stage shall contest quarter-finals on 22, 23 April as follows:

Winner A v Runner-up D (I)
Winner D v Runner-up A (II)
Winner B v Runner-up C (III)
Winner C v Runner-up B (III)

The four winners of the quarter-finals will qualify for the 25th April semi-finals as follows :

Winner I v Winner III (E)
Winner II v Winner IV (F)

The losers in Matches E and F will play bronze medal match on 26 April while the winner of Matches E & F will appear in 27th April Final.