NED University wins AKU Championship Final

Karachi: The final of the 9th Aga Khan University (AKU) Inter-University Football Tournament was played yesterday at the AKU Football Ground. NED University of Engineering & Technology (NED-UET) Team defended their title and clinched the Football Trophy defeating Balochistan University of Information Technology Engineering & Management Sciences (BUITEMS) on Penalty Kicks by 03 – 02 goals.

The Chief Guest Mr. Louis R. Ariano, Registrar, Aga Khan University in presence of Riaz Akbar Contractor, Chief Organizer and Manager AKU Sports Centre, Hanif M. Shariff, Sr. Manager Administrative Services, AKU, Amin Lakhani, Manager Students Campus Life, AKU, Qamar Yar, Secretary, Sindh Football Referee Association distributed the prizes among the players. The NED Captain Rafay Fahim received the Winning Trophy while BUITEMS Skipper Shahabuddin received the Runner’s-up Trophy. The 3rd position trophy was received by Zahir Hussain, Captain of AKU Football Team who earlier defeated Hamdard University by 2-1 goals.

Rehan Munir of AKU was given the Best Player of the Tournament award. Special Consolation Prizes were awarded to Zahoor Shah of HU, Waqas Ahmed of NED, Zahir Hussain of AKU and Zahoor Shah of BUITEMS for demonstrating excellent skills in the Football Tournament. Mr. Louis R. Ariano paid tributes to the efforts of AKU Sports Centre Organizers for organizing such healthy activities especially for the youths and congratulated both the teams on their success. He emphasized to the Organizers that such Tournaments should be arranged on regular basis for the promotion of Football amongst the youth. Riaz Akbar Contractor, Chief Organizer and Manager AKU Sports Centre thanked the guests, the participating teams, print and electronic media and the technical officials for all the support in organizing the successful tournament.


NED won the match on Penalty Kicks 3-2. At the end of the time, Score was 0 – 0 each, then on 15 minutes extra time score was 0 – 0 each. Finally the result came out on 5 penalty kicks each.

Individual Score of Winner Team
1. RAFAY FAHIM 01 GOAL 2. OMER MUMTAZ 01 GOAL 3. JAMSHED OMER01 GOAL. While 1. WASEEMUDDIN 01 GOAL 2. SHAHBUDDIN 01 GOAL were the scorer for the looser team.