WAPDA face tricky group in AFC President’s Cup

Source: the-afc.com

Kuala Lumpur: Defending champions Yadanarbon of Myanmar will have to navigate uncharted waters after being drawn on Monday with debutants Jabal Al Mukaber Club of Palestine and Tajik club Istiklol for the 2011 edition of the AFC President’s Cup.

Group B is completed by Bhutan’s Yeedzin FC, who played in the last edition too.

Yadanarbon edged past Kyrgyzstan’s Dordoi 1-0 in the previous edition’s final in Yangon but the inclusion of Jabal Al Mukaber in this year’s competition is set to further spice up the competition. This is the first time ever a club from West Asia is playing in the AFC President’s Cup.

Cambodia’s Phnom Penh Crown FC will play host to Group A, which also comprises Kyrgyzstan’s Neftchi Kochkor-Ata, Bangladesh champions Abahani and Sri Lanka’s Don Bosco Sports Club.

Nepal Police Club (Nepal), Taiwan Power Company (Chinese Taipei), FC Nebitchi (Turkmenistan) and WAPDA (Pakistan) form Group C, which will be played in Kathmandu, Nepal.

The group matches will be played from May 13 to 31. The top two teams from each group will qualify for the six-team finals to be played at a centralised venue.


Group A

Phnom Penh Crown FC (CAM)
Neftchi Kochkor-Ata (KGZ)
Abahani (BAN)
Don Bosco SC (SRI)


Yadanarbon (MYA)
Istiklol (TJK)
Jabal Al Mukaber Club (PAL)
Yeedzin FC (BHU)


Nepal Police Club (NEP)
Taiwan Power Company (TPE)
FC Nebitchi (TKM)