KFL 2010-11: Mauripur enter Final after extra-time win over hosts Baloch Mujahid

The first semi-final of the 8th Karachi Football League 2010-11 saw Mauripur Baloch dash the hopes of hosts Baloch Mujahid to reach the final after a gripping 2-0 extra-time win at the Baloch Mujahid Stadium in Ibrahim Hyderi on Sunday, 20 March 2011. The match finished 0-0 at end of normal time, and in extra-time Mauripur’s substitues rattled the favourites with 2 goals by substitutes Hanif Lal and Abdul Waheed that ended Baloch Mujahid’s impressive run in this season’s KFL campaign.

The game began in frantic pace with both sides going hard for goals, only to be denied by the defence and goalkeepers of each other. Baloch Mujahid’s forward line of Muhammad Hanif, Muhammad Rizwan, Muhammad Nadeem and Umer Bakhsh each came close to scoring but Mauripur Baloch’s defence of Sameer Jahangir, Khalid Sakhi, Jalal, Sameer Samad and goalkeeper Nabeel Baloch were ready to deal with the pressure. In response Mauripur’s midfield of Adnan Sakhi, Majid Baloch, and Abdul Rasheed provided their strikers Lal Bakhsh Lala, Sajjad Kaka, and Muhammad Kamra with good passes but the Baloch Mujahid defence of Salal Raza, Muhammad Nawaz, Nabi Bakhsh, Shahzad Majeed and goalkeeper Shahzad Ali held firm.

The game eventually ended 0-0 after 90 minutes, leading to extra time as both sides failed to score. Just a few minutes into extra-time, and Mauripur Baloch’s substitute Hanif Lal scored from a Abdul Rasheed through ball, giving his side a 1-0 lead in 93rd minute. Baloch Mujahid’s tiring legs attempted to equalise but in 2nd period of extra time, another substitute Abdul Waheed scored from a Adnan Sakhi cross to make it 2-0 to Mauripur Baloch.

Baloch Mujahid failed to recover from the set back as they bowed out to give Mauripur Baloch a deserving place in final of KFL. Veteran hero Hanif Lal was declared man of the match by KFL organising secretary Riaz Ahmed. Referees were Javed Bangash with assistants Babar Khan and Farrukh Riaz, while match commissioner was Saleem Arif.

Mauripur Baloch will now face winner of 2nd semi-final between Al-Shabaz Korangi and Baloch Youth (21 March 2011) in the final on 27 March 2011, while Baloch Mujahid will face loser of the 2nd semi in 3rd place game on 27 March as well.


Venue: Baloch Mujahid Stadium – Ibrahim Hyderi


Mauripur Baloch moved into Final of 8th Karachi Football League after defeating Baloch Mujahid FC 2-0 a.e.f. (0-0)

MAURPUR BALOCH 2: Hanif Lal 93 (Pass from Abdul Rasheed), Abdul Waheed 118 (Header) cross from Adnan Sakhi

Hanif Lal entered in 56th min in place of Lal Baksh Lala while Abdul Waheed also entered in 56th min in place of Majid Baloch

Man of the Match Hanif Lal (Mauripur Baloch)

RIAZ AHMED – 0330-2926092