KFL 2010-11: Baloch Youth Garden crowned champs

The 8th Karachi Football League 2010-11 reached its conclusion with a sensational final between Baloch Youth Garden and Mauripur Baloch at Baloch Mujahid Stadium in Ibrahim Hyderi, Karachi on 27 March 2011 with 6 PM Kick-off.

Organised by Karachi United FC, the KFL’s eighth ever final saw Baloch Youth Garden stun Mauripur Baloch in a close encounter 2-1 deep in injury time to be crowned the champions of Karachi in front of a packed crowd and guests.

Both the teams, affiliated with Zonal FA West Karachi, gave their best for the entire game but Baloch Youth Garden had just enough composure to cross the finish line as winners. Earlier in the day, venue hosts Baloch Mujahid over-came Al-Shabaz Korangi 3-1 to win the bronze medal in 3rd place game.

This was Baloch Youth Garden’s first ever KFL win and it became the third Zone West side to be crowned champions alongside Kemari Mohammadan and Young Ansari. Other KFL winners include Hyderi Baloch, Lyari Labour & Welfare Centre, two-time winners Shazad Mohammadan, and Chanesar Blue.

Baloch Youth Garden took a first half lead after 32 minutes when Talal Ayub scored, however Mauripur Baloch equalised in 64th minute with a penalty by Sameer Samad. Both sides were going all out for the win the entire game, but just when it seemed that the match would head into extra time, striker Sarmad Jaffar stunned the crowd when he scored for Baloch Youth Garden deep into injury time (92′) to crown his side the new football champions of Karachi. For his late stunner, Sarmad Jaffar was declared man of the final.

Earlier in the day, Al-Shabaz Korangi failed to hold to their 20th minute lead given by Shah Alam as home side Baloch Mujahid came back strongly to score thrice and win the bronze medal in 3rd place game for the losing semi-finalists. Bilal Raza scored twice (35′ and 41′) and Umer Bakhsh scored in 66th minute for Baloch Mujahid as they eventually won the game 3-1 at the final whistle for its bronze medal. Bilal Raza was declared man of the match for his two goals.

Referees were Adnan Khan and Ibrar Hussain, alongside assistants Babar Khan, Farrukh Riaz, and Muhammad Kamran, while match commissioners were Saleem Arif and Abdul Karim (Member, Zone Central FA).

The KFL Final was attended by a large crowd as well as various football personalites from across Karachi. The guests included Chief Guest Shahid Taj (newly appointed Secretary of Zone Malir FA), KFL final ceremony president Mushtaq Ahmed (ADO CDGK), Fateh Muhammad Baloch (Chairman, Zone Malir FA), ex-international Zafar Iqbal (Chairman, Zone West FA), Rahim Bakhsh (Secretary, Zone West FA), Gulab Baloch (Chairman, Zone South FA), Jan Muhammad (Secretary, Zone South FA), Abid Hussain Bhatti (Chairman, Zone East FA), Master Ghulam Rasool, and players from all teams.

All the guests presented commended Karachi United FC for its superb organisation of the Karachi Football League for 8 years running, and declared the KFL as the city’s mega-event. They also commended the dedication shown by Riaz Ahmed as KFL organising secretary as well as for promoting the sport in the city.

Baloch Youth Garden won the winner’s trophy alongside Rs 50,000 award, Mauripur Baloch got runner-up trophy and Rs 30,000, while Baloch Mujahid earned 3rd place trophy and Rs 10,000 award. The players of each teams earned their respective gold, silver, and bronze medals. Further more, Karachi United’s Rehan Munir was declare Player of the Tournament, Young Ansari’s Hameed Afridi was Top Scorer, Adnan Khan was Best Referee, Farrukh Riaz was Best Assistant Referee, and Orangi Mohammadan earned Fair Play Trophy with all said individuals earning cash prizes of Rs 5,000 each. Baloch Mujahid’s Abdul Malik was given Best Emerging Player shield. All prizes were distributed by the chief guest and others present at the occasion.

Venue: Baloch Mujahid Stadium – Ibrahim Hyderi


Baloch Youth Garden defeated Mauripur Baloch 2-1 (1-0)

Baloch Youth 2: Talal Ayub 32, Sarmad Jaffer 90+2
Mauripur Baloch 1: Sameer Samad 64

Man of the final Sarmad Jaffer of Baloch Youth Garden


Baloch Mujahid beat Al-Shabaz Korangi 3-1(1-1)

Baloch Mujahid 3: Bilal Raza (2) 35,41, Umer Bakhsh 66
Al-Shabaz 1: Noor Alam 20

Man of the Match Bilal Raza of Baloch Mujahid

Cash Awards:

Baloch Youth Garden (1st Position) Rs.50,000/-

Mauripur Baloch (2nd Position) Rs.30,000/-

Baloch Mujahid (3rd Position) Rs.10,000/-

Fair Play Trophy : Orangi Mohammedan Rs.5,000/-

Most Valuable Player: Rehan Munir of Karachi United Rs.5,000/-

Top Scorer: Abdul Hameed Afridi (13 Goals) of Young Ansari

Best Referee: Adnan Khan – Rs.5,000/-

Best Assistant Referee: Farrukh Riaz – Rs.5,000/-

Special Shield for Emerging Player presented to Abdul Malik of Baloch Mujahid

[Source: RIAZ AHMED – 0300-3926092]