Al-Shahbaz win Nawabshah District League!

[Source: Riaz Ahmed, veteran football journalist]

The District Nawabshah (Shaheed Benazirabad) venue of Municipal High School Ground Nawabshah witnessed Al-Shahbaz FC stun tournament hosts Moment FC 1-0 in the final to win the Aleem Uddin Qureshi Memorial District Football League Championship in front of a capacity crowd.

Al-Shahbaz started the match with a dominant performance in the first half but they could only score once thanks to Sunny in the 12th minute; a goal that would prove decided in the end. The victors’ Murtaza Baloch, Mubeen Sarwar, and Shahrukh continuously attacked the Moment FC goal but the opposing defenders Faqir Muhammad, Zeeshan, Kashif, and goalkeeper Faisal Qureshi held on strong. At half-time, score remained 1-0 to Al-Shahbaz. In second half, Moment came out better but their strikers Nasir Qureshi, Saeed Mughal, and Shakir Qureshi could not get the breakthrough. Previously, Al-Shahbaz had already beaten Moment 1-0 in league round. Moment FC were declared District League Round winners over scheduled 24 matches, while Al-Shahbaz became District League Top-4 champions. Referee for the final was Abdul Latif Baloch alongside assistants Fida Hussain Baloch and Arshad Ahmed Bhatti while match commissioner was Hashmat Ali.

At the end of the game, the chief organiser presented all chief guests with a traditional Sindhi Ajrak shawl each. The chief guest Syed Ghulam Mustafa Shah, member of the Pakistan Muslim League (Nawaz) Organising Committee Sindh, awarded the winners trophy and cash award to the winning side. He also congratulated the organising committee for their selfless

Master Riasat Ali - Chief Organiser of 2010 District Nawabshah Football League

volunteer work in reviving the district league tournament after a 25 year absence, and donated Rs 10,000. Also in attendance were Saleem Sheikh, Raja Abdul Ghaffar, Gul Muhammad, Jalil Qureshi, Abdul Qadeer Qureshi, Master Saeed, Yaqoob Baloch, Arif Rehmatullah, and chief organiser Master Riasat Ali.

The guests also presented various awards and prizes for all participants in the tournament. Young Baloch FC was awarded Fair Play Trophy, while Moment FC’s young stalwart Muhammad Salman Qureshi was awarded Player of Tournament prize. Pak Sports’ Naqash earned Top Scorer prize for his 5 goals in the tournament.