SAFF Women Championship 2010: 30 female footballers approved for National Camp

Lahore, 31 October : Pakistan Football Federation (PFF)’s President Makhdoom Syed Faisal Saleh Hayat has approved 30 female footballers in the build up for the National Women football team to appear in the inaugural SAFF Women Championship as South Asian Football Federation (SAFF) is all set to organize women´s football among its member nations from 3-13 December 2010 when Bangladeshi town Cox’s Bazar will host inaugural SAFF women Championship.

Faisal Saleh Hayat believes if the SAFF is functioned in proper way, the regional body will have a great impact on the AFC and the FIFA and the member countries will be financially benefited.

Women football made maiden appearance in the 11th South Asian Games for the first time last year to promote the development of football in South Asia. India had won gold medal in the competition that also included Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Nepal and Bangladesh while there were withdrawal from Bhutan, Maldives and Afghanistan.

Technical Study Group (TSG) of sixth National Women Championship at Islamabad was responsible for picking the probable and they handed PFF Operation Cell the 30-player list. All the selected players are requested to report in the camp on 1 November 2010 afternoon. All the players be informed to bring their original passport, ID Cards, Departmental NOC and six passport size photographs with white back ground at the time of reporting to the camp. The players are to be in possession of full playing kit with tracksuit. Ishrat Fatima, Shumaila Sattar, Naima Mukhtar, Shagufta Akhtar ,Sahar Zaman, Malaika Noor, S. Mahapara , Humera Nazir, Rafia Perveen, Saba Barkat Ullah, Nadia Bhatti , Riffat Mehdi, Sohaila Zareen, Shahlyla Baloch, Shahida (Balochistan United), Asma Usman , Hajra Khan , Mejzgaan Orakzai and Abeeha Masood, Shaista Laghari are among probables who represented Pakistan in 11th South Asian Games 2010.

The thirty female footballers called for the camp are :

Rawalpindi’s Young Rising Star (7): Sahar Zaman, Malaika Noor, Syeda Mahpara, Roshnan Ali, Rozina Ghazi, Asmara Kiani, Sana Mehmood

Pak WAPDA (6): Shumaila Sattar, Humera Nazir, Rafia Perveen, Saba Barkatullah, Azra Nasir, Nadia Bhatti

Sports Sciences, Punjab University (5): Isharat Fatima, Naima Mukhtar, Irsa Batool, Shagufta Akhtar, Aisha Hussain

Balochistan United (5): Sohaila Zareen, Shahlyla Baloch, Shahida, Riffat Mehdi, Shaista Laghari

IFA (4) : Mejzgaan Orakzai, Abeeha Masood, Fauzia Malik, Mehwish Khan

Diya FC (1): Hajra Khan

HEC (1): Asma Usman

Punjab (1): Tahira Ikram