Pakistan to face India in AFC Challenge Cup Qualifiers.


Kuala Lumpur: Defending champions DPR Korea were placed in Group D of the 2012 AFC Challenge Cup with Nepal, Sri Lanka and the winner of playoff 1.

The eight lowest-ranked teams out of 20, which entered the fray, will play off on a home-and-away basis and the four winners will qualify for the 16-team group phase.

Bhutan will meet Afghanistan, the Philippines will take on Mongolia, Chinese Taipei will face Laos, and Cambodia will lock horns against Macau in the play-offs to be played on February 9 and 16, 2011.

India, who won the 2008 edition of the competition, were placed in Group B alongside Turkmenistan, Pakistan and the winner of playoff 3.

Bangladesh, who hosted the inaugural edition of the tournament in 2006, will play Palestine, Myanmar and the winner of playoff 2 in Group A while Group C comprise of Tajikistan, Maldives, winner of playoff 4 and Kyrgyzstan.

The group stage will be played between March 20 to 31, 2011, and the hosts will be announced later.


Playoffs (February 9 and 16, 2011)

Playoff 1: Bhutan vs Afghanistan
Playoff 2: Philippines vs Mongolia
Playoff 3: Chinese Taipei vs Laos
Playoff 4: Cambodia vs Macau

GROUP STAGE (March 20-31, 2011)

Group A: Myanmar, Palestine, Bangladesh, winner of playoff 2
Group B: Turkmenistan, India, winner of playoff 3, Pakistan
Group C: Tajikistan, Maldives, winner of playoff 4, Kyrgyzstan
Group D: DPR Korea, winner of playoff 1, Nepal, Sri Lanka