Former Pakistan captain raises concerns over foreign players’ induction in football team [Geo Super]

Former Pakistan captain raises concerns over foreign players’ induction in football team [Geo Super]

Former Pakistan captain Essa Khan said Pakistan Football Federation (PFF)’s Normalisation Committee (NC) is bringing diaspora footballers on commissions. 

Khan, who retired from the national team back in 2009, told reporters that PFF NC is taking commissions for including diaspora footballers in the national team. 

“PFF NC is not working on the given mandate. They are just making money here,” he said. “National team selection should be done on merit. But, NC is taking commissions to include players with dual nationality. It is totally unfair with the local talent,” added Essa who made his debut for Pakistan in 2000. 

PFF NC called 28 players for national camp ahead of the upcoming 4-Nations Cup in Mauritius and SAFF Championship 2023 scheduled to be held in Bengaluru, India.

Nine out of 28 players have roots in Pakistan but they play for foreign clubs in different countries including UK and Denmark. 

Essa said PFF NC’s chairman Haroon Malik wants an extension in his tenure for the third time. “Haroon wants an extension for the third time because he wants to earn dollars,” he reiterated. 

“He is ignoring national footballers just for money. His mandate is to hold elections but he failed to do so. He is earning a hefty amount in dollars and wants to continue working with all the perks he is getting from FIFA,” he maintained. 

Essa, in the end, said everyone wants the progress of Pakistan team but merit shouldn’t be compromised. “We are not against the Pakistan team. We want selection on merit and we will keep on raising our voice against people who are working for personal benefits,” he concluded. 

The national camp will start tomorrow in Lahore. 

Camp probables

Goalkeepers: Saqib Hanif, Salman ul Haq, Abdul Basit and Yousaf Ijaz Butt (Denmark).

Defenders: Muhammad Umar Hayat, Ali Khan Niazi, Muhammad Sufyan, Muhammad Umer Saeed, Mamoon Moosa Khan, Syed Abdullah Shah, Haseeb Ahmed Khan, Sardar Wali, Sohail, Easah Suliman (UK) and Abdullah Iqbal (Denmark).

Midfielders: Alamgir Ali Khan Ghazi, Ali Uzair Mahmood, Moin Ahmed, Shayak Dost, Muhammad Waleed Khan, Rahis Nabi (UK), Harun Arrashid Faheem Hamid (UK), Umair Ali and Muhammad Adnan Yaqoob (Denmark).

Forwards: Abdul Samad Shahzad (Denmark), Otis Jan Mohammad Khan (UK), Hassan Naweed Bashir (Denmark) and Muhammad Waheed.