KYI Coca Cola Karachi Football League 2014 set to start

KYI Coca Cola Karachi Football League 2014 set to start

The 11th Edition of the KYI Coca Cola Karachi Football League will kick off on 24th January with Burma Mohammedan taking on Young Azizabad FC in the opening fixture at Korangi Baloch Ground Sharafi at 4:00 pm.

This season’s League will be the biggest League of its kind featuring an unprecedented 140 teams. In the main round, the twenty teams are divided into two groups of ten each, with each team playing in one Group playing the other nine once. Group A named after former legend Capt. Umer includes the last two Champions i.e. defending Champions, Baluch Mujahid as well as 2011-12 Champions, Burma M’Dan. Hosts and 2011-12 runners-up, Karachi United FC also feature in Group A alongwith FC Rovers, Irfan Memorial, Young Azizabad, Maymar Sports, Gulistan Friends, Islah Baloch  and Former DG Rangers Champion Khyber Muslim.

Group B named after Turrab Ali also features two semi finalist of last edition Azam Sports and Korangi Baloch Sharafi as well other heavyweights such as Mauripur Green Baloch, Aga Khan Gymkhana, Salar Welfare Centre and Jam XI.The remaining teams in this Group are Baloch Youth Malir, Wasif Memorial, Usmanabad Union and Malik Star.

The top 4 from each Group will qualify for the Playoffs where they will be joined by 8 other teams from the three Championships also being played under the umbrella of the KYI Coca-Cola KFL. The three Championships feature 72 teams in Lyari, 32 teams from Korangi and 16 teams from Sultanabad/Hjirat Colony and surrounding areas. The top 4 from Lyari and top 2 each from Korangi and Sultanabad will qualify for the Playoffs.  The Championships will be on a knock-out format whereas the main round will feature the groups of ten teams each facing each team once. The Championships will kick off in February with the likes of former Championships, Hyderi Baluch and LLWC as well as Baluch M’Dan Lyari, Kalri Sports and Young Tughlaq featuring in Lyari; former Champions, Shazad M’Dan and Chanesar Blue are fancied in Korangi alongwith Hazara M’Dan and in Sultanabad, Former Champion Keamari M’Dan, Sind Muslim, Keamari Union, Clifton Shaheen will be some of the teams fancying their chances.

The Playoffs featuring the 16 teams will also be on a knock-out format with the Round of 16 followed by the quarter-finals, semi-finals then the Grand Final, tentatively scheduled for April.

The event will see around 240 games played at different venues (including Peoples Stadium, Baluch Mujahid Stadium, Korangi Baloch Stadium Sharafi, Mohammadi Stadium, Memon Goth and KPT Stadium) across the city.

Raheem Baksh Baloch (Secretary, District West) is the Chairman of the Organizing Committee while Capt. Obaidullah Khan (Secretary, District East) is the Secretary of the Organizing Committee. Riaz Ahmed will be the Chief Coordinator.

The event which is being organized with the patronage and support of Karachi Youth Initiative (KYI) is also sponsored by Coca-Cola.

The Champions of the event will earn Rs. 250,000 with the runners-up getting Rs. 100,000, third place, Rs. 50,000 and various individual cash prizes, including Rs. 20,000 each for the most valuable player and the golden boot (highest scorer). other smaller cash awards. Fair Play Rs.10,000, Best Referee Rs.5,000, Best Goalie Rs.5,000, Best Manager Rs.5,000 and Emerging Player Rs.5,000.

KFL - OPEINGRiaz Ahmed – 0323-2843199