Lasbela upset DFA West in NBP Peace Cup

Lasbela upset DFA West in NBP Peace Cup

DFA Lasbela stunned everyone when they beat a strong DFA West side 1-0 in the All-Pakisan National Bank Peace Football Cup being held in Karachi at the Shaheed Abdur Rehman Baloch Football Stadium in Gabol Park, Lyari.

Lasbela’s Sajid Ali scored the only goal of the game in 77th minute. DFA West had won its previous two Group C games against DFA Jacobabad and Pak PWD to qualify for quarter-finals before losing to DFA Lasbela. Both sides finished their 3 group games with 6 points each, however PPWD need to beat DFA Jacobabad in their final group game by 3 clear goals to join DFA West in next round instead of DFA Lasbela.

In Group B, DFA Hyderabad edged DFA Khuzdar 1-0 thanks to striker Fahim Qureshi’s 46th minute goal to continue their quest for a next round place. Hyderabad now have 6 points from 3 games await the results of Khuzdar’s remaining fixtures with Sindh Govt Press (SGP) and DFA East to see if they can make it to quarter-finals. SGP have already been eliminated and DFA East has qualified due to better goal difference.

The All-Sindh Qazi Abdur Rasheed Bhatti Invitational Football Cup, hosted by Pak Sports FC at Municipal High School Ground in Nawabshah (Shaheed Benazirabad), saw Karachi’s Rizwan Sports FC come from behind to hold Hyderabad’s Modern FC in normal time before winning the penalty shoot-out.

Modern FC took the lead after just 20 seconds played through striker Imran. But Rizwan Sports rallied hard to find the equaliser in 18th minute through Wasey scored from an Ali pass. The scoreline remained same at the end, forcing a penalty shootout. Rizwan Sports’ Ali, Aamir Qureshi, and Hassan scored from the spot while only Modern’s Niaz Gul and Raees could reply as Rizwan Sports won 3-2 in the end to qualify for next round.

The match was attended by former Firdos FC Nawabshah footballer Khalifa Agha Saeed. The next round of matches sees an all-Nawabshah tie between Jhoolay Lal FC and Aslam Azad, while Nawabshah’s King Baloch faces Mirpur Khas’ Mehrab XI.