DFA South reach NBP Peace Cup quarter-finals

Tournament hosts DFA South eased past DFA Central 3-0 to reach the quarter-finals of the All-Pakistan National Bank Peace Cup 2012 on Thursday, 6 December 2012. In another game DFA Lasbela thrashed DFA Jacobabad 3-0 at the Shaheed Abdur Rehman Baloch Football Stadium in Gabol Park, Lyari (Karachi).

DFA South had to beat DFA Central by 3 clear goals to confirm their place in NBP Peace Cup quarter-finals. After a goal-less first half, the match sprang into live when goals from Habib Ghulam (57′), Yousaf (80′), and Shahid Saleem (84′) helped DFA South win 3-0.

DFA South finished in 2nd place on 4 points in Group A behind already qualified Gwadar Port Authority who have 7 points. DFA South pipped Karachi Water & Sewerage Board (KWSB) to third place based on better goal difference due to them being tied on same points. DFA Central finished their participation with just 1 point from 3 games in bottom of Group A.

In Group C, DFA Lasbela eased past DFA Jacobabad to a vital 3-0 win thanks to goals from Ubaidullah (13′), Muhammad Usman (65′), and Muhammad Tufail (90+2′). This was DFA Jacobabad’s 2nd consecutive defeat while being DFA Lasbela’s first win with both sides playing 2 games each so far. DFA West has already qualified for quarter-finals from Group C with Pak Public Works Dept (PPWD) still in running with 3 points in 2 games.

The All-Sindh Qazi Abdur Rasheed Bhatti Invitational Football Cup, hosted by Pak Sports FC at Municipal High School Ground in Nawabshah (Shaheed Benazirabad), saw an interesting game taking place.

Nawabshah’s two teams, Jhoolay Lal FC and Shaheen FC, fought it out in a cagey affair which ended 0-0 and forced a penalty shoot-out to decide the winner. Jhoolay Lal’s good fortune showed as they won 3-2 on penalties. Jabbar, Mukhtar, and Rawal both converted their penalties while Shaheen’s Sattar and Prakash could only convert their’s.

The win helped Jhoolay Lal qualify for next round of the event. Referees were M Umar, Naseer Umar, Iftikhar Ahmed, and match commissioner Zainul Abideen.