Gulshan Ittehad reach Benazir Cup semis in Khairpur

The All-Pakistan Shaheed Mohtarma Benazir Bhutto Floodlit Football Cup in Khairpur, organised by DFA Khairpur and District Sports Committee Khairpur at Mumtaz Sports Ground has been taking place in style.

Hosts DFA Khairpur lost to Karachi’s Gulshan-e-Ittehad FC (Korangi) 2-0 in the quarterfinals thanks to goals from Nabi Hussain (65′) and Muhammad Aamir (80′) after a cagey first half action. The match was attended by chief guest Muhammad Abbas Baloch (Commissioner, Sukkur) who met both teams at half-time.

In the other quarterfinals, Malik Nawaz FC (Jamal Din Wali) beat Khaskheli Brothers (Safora Goth, Malir, Karachi) on penalties 5-4 after 0-0 draw to reach semi-finals. Referees were Anwar Solangi, Faqir Ahmed, and Syed Haider Shah with match commissioner Syed Arshad Shah

The 3rd quartefinal will see DFA Malir face Al-Jaffar FC and 4th quarterfinal will see DFA Khairpur Blue face Ghazi Abbas FC (Jacobabad). The semi-finals will be played on 11th and final on 12 November 2012.

With the special request of chief coordinator Syed Ali Madad Shah, the Chief Minister of Sindh Syed Qaim Ali Shah will be chief guest for the final.