Azam Sports face hosts in Korangi Baloch Challenge Cup final

Azam Sports (Drigh Road) and host Korangi Baloch (Sharafi) reached the final of the All-Karachi Korangi Baloch Challenge Cup after winning their respective semi-finals on 10 July 2012 at the Korangi Baloch Stadium in Sharafi, Karachi.

Azam Sports trounced Baloch Youth (Garden) 5-2, while Korangi Baloch edged past Al-Shabaz Korangi 1-0.

Azam Sports did not encounter much resistence from Baloch Youth as they led 2-1 at half time thanks to goals from Naveed Ullah (10′ and 20′) with Saramad Jaffar scoring once for Baloch Youth. In 2nd half, Azam Sports maintained their hold on the game as Waseem Ullah’s cross was hit home by Aqeel Khan to make it 3-1 in 48th minute.

Baloch Youth won a penalty a few minutes later but Abdus Salam’s penalty was well-saved by Azam Sports goalkeeper Shahid Islam in 51st minute. Naveed Ullah then completed his hat-trick after a superb solo effort in 59th minute to make it 4-1 for Azam Sports.

Baloch Youth managed another goal from Saramad Jaffar when he scored from a Talal Ayub cross in 74th minute to make it 4-2 but Waseem Ullah scored from a Naveed Ullah pass in 78th minute to decide the 5-2 win for Azam Sports in the end.

The 2nd semi-final saw a tense cagey encounter between Korangi Baloch and Al-Shabaz. Al-Shabaz’s goalkeeper Manzoor Alam managed to deny Korangi Baloch’s Aqeel Baloch, Abdul Jabbar Jr., Abdul Hafeez, and Amjad Anjum from scoring throughout normal time, while Al-Shabaz too difficulties because of Fareed Alam’s suspension and Shah Alam’s injury.

Korangi Baloch then struck in stoppage time when veteran striker Amjad Anjum smartly finished a cross from Akhtar Baloch to make it 1-0 (90+1′) and give his side the win.

Referees were Anser Javed, Saeed Alam, M Tahir, Latif Baloch Jr., and match commissioner Usman Baloch.

The final of the Korangi Baloch Challenge Cup will be played on Friday, 13 July at 1500 hrs kick-off between the winning semi-finalists. This will be Azam Sports’ 9th football final in 2012 after a remarkable set of results this year by winning 8 tournament finals already.