Taipower through to next round after last-gasp win

Lahore: Yi Wei Chen fired a stoppage time winner as defending champions Taiwan Power Company qualified for the finals of the AFC President’s Cup following a 1-0 victory over Mongolian debutants Erchim FC on Wednesday night, 10 May 2012 at Punjab Stadium, Lahore.

Erchim FC were on course in earning a deserved point as Taiwan Power Company failed to break the strong Erchim defence that resisted the former champions until the 93rd minutes of the match that ultimately let in the defending winners.

A mix-up between Erchim’s impressive goalkeeper Ariunbold Batsaikhan and his defence allowed Yi Wei Chen to pounce and score for the defending champs Taipower just before the end.

Despite being at the foot of the Group A table and finishing all their matches of the campaign, Erchim still have a slim hope of qualifying for the finals as hosts KRL are playing against Taiwan Power Company on Saturday’s last match of the group on 12 May.

A win of more than two goals for Taiwan Power Company will ensure a passage for Erchim while anything less than that will help the hosts KRL go to the September finals.

Group A

Team Pld W D L GF GA GD Pts
Chinese Taipei Taiwan Power Company 1 1 0 0 1 0 +1 3
Pakistan KRL 1 0 1 0 0 0 0 1
Mongolia Erchim 2 0 1 1 0 1 −1 1


8 May 2012
KRL Pakistan 0 – 0 Mongolia Erchim Punjab Stadium, Lahore
Attendance: 500
Referee: Wang Di (China P.R.)

10 May 2012
Erchim Mongolia 0 – 1 Chinese Taipei Taiwan Power Company Punjab Stadium, Lahore

12 May 2012
KRL Pakistan v Chinese Taipei Taiwan Power Company Punjab Stadium, Lahore