Taipower squad for AFC President’s Cup in Lahore

Taiwan Power Company Football Club (Chinese: 台灣電力公司足球隊), often shortened to Taipower (Chinese: 台電), is a Taiwanese (Chinese Taipei) semi-professional football club based in Fongshan District, Kaohsiung City. The club was founded in 1979 and is affiliated with Taiwan Power Company, the country’s national utility. Nicknamed Nan-ba-tien (Chinese: 南霸天, lit. Southern Overlord), Taipower is the most successful football club in Taiwan, having won 14 league titles, notably in 10 consecutive seasons from 1994 to 2004.

With the exits of Flying Camel and Taipei City Bank F.C. in the late 1990s, Taipower and Tatung F.C. are the only two remaining football clubs competing in Taiwan’s highest-ranked Enterprise Football League. Taipower became the first Taiwanese club to win a major Asian title when they won the 2011 AFC President’s Cup at home in Kaohsiung.