Burma Mohammadan book place in KFL final

The 9th UBL Omni Karachi Football League 2011-12 saw Burma Mohammadan (Korangi) book a place in the KFL final after edging past Kalri Star (Lyari) on penalties in the 2nd semi-final last night, 5 May 2012.

The jam-packed Baloch Mujahid Stadium in Ibrahim Hyderi, Karachi witnessed a cagey encounter between Burma Mohammadan and Kalri Star. Both sides fought tooth and nail to win the tie and meet league organisers Karachi United FC in the final.

The match saw some rough play by both sides as the referee Saeed Khan was force to hand out 3 yellow cards to each team, as well as suspending Burma Mohammadan’s Saeed ur Rehman for a 2nd yellow.

Burma Mohammadan dominated opening exchanges as Kalri Star’s defence was stretched out in face of tremendous attacks. But Burma Mohammadan had to wait till the 44th minute to score when winger Imran Shakoor’s 30 yard shot made its way past Kalri goalkeeper Husam Baloch to make it 1-0. But Kalri Star struck back immediately when a mix-up between Burma Mohammadan defence and goalkeeper Abdul Ghani allowed Muhammad bin Lal to equalise just before half-time.

In 2nd half, Kalri Star attempted to dominate the game but Burma Mohammadan’s defence held firm as the game finished 1-1 after 90 minutes, forcing 30 minutes of extra time. But the score remained the same by the end, leading to a penalty shoot-out as the match decider.

Burma Mohammadan’s Anees Ahmed saw his penalty saved, but his team-mates M Usman, Abdul Ghani, Imran Shakoor, and Abdul Rehman scored from their’s. Kalri Star’s Javed Ibrahim, Muhammad bin Lal, and Aurang Zeb scored from the spot but Asif Baloch struck the post and Mubashir Baloch’s kick was saved by Burma goalie Abdul Ghani to send Burma Mohammadan through to the final 4-3 in the shoot-out.

Referees were Saeed Khan, Javed Bangash, M Kamran, Ibrar Hussain, and match commissioner H.M.Hanif.

Burma Mohammadan will take on Karachi United in the final on 6 May at same venue with 7 PM kick off, while Kalri Star face Korangi Baloch for 3rd place game.

KFL organising secretary Riaz Ahmed stated that KFL winners will be given Rs 100,000 prize, runners-up Rs 50,000 prize, and 3rd place getting Rs 20,000 prize. Fair Play Trophy, Player of the Tournament, and Top Scorer prizes will be worth Rs 10,000 each. Best Goalkeeper, Best coach, Emerging Player, and Best Referee prizes will be worth Rs 5,000 each.