Azam Sports crowned Engro Vopak League champions

Azam Sports (Drigh Road) edged past home side Jam XI (Malir) on penalties to be crowned the inaugural Engro Vopak Football League 2012 champions yesterday, 1 April 2012, at Jam Stadium (Malir, Karachi).

The final had finished a tense 1-1 at full-time, forcing a penalty shoot-out in which Azam Sports held their nerve to win 4-3. Jam XI took the lead through Liaquat Ali after 10 minutes, but Azam Sports equalised through a Kamran Boota spot kick in 37th minute. The scores remained same the rest of the game before Azam Sports prevailed in the end on penalties to be crowned champions. Referees were Aziz Pasha, Babar Khan, Shaukat Ali, Khalid Mumtaz, and match commissioner Abdul Karim.

The match was graced by Engro Vopak Ltd CEO Sheikh Imran ul Haq as chief guest. He met both teams at half-time break and handed out the relevant prizes to the deserving players and teams at the end.

Sheikh Imran ul Haq showered tremendous praise on FC Rovers (Malir Cantt) management for organising such a splendid event, the organising committee led by Riaz Ahmed for their utmost dedication, and the players for their wonderful performances. The chief guest also vowed to make the Engo Vopak League an annual event from now on, and offered full support from his company to ensure subsequent editions will also be a success to promote football across Karachi.

Azam Sports captain Shahid Islam received winners trophy and Rs 50,000 1st place award, Jam XI captain received 2nd place trophy and Rs 30,000 2nd place prize, Baloch Mohammadan captain Ahmed Lal received 2rd place trophy and Rs 20,000. Azam Sports’ Naveed Ullah was declared Best Player, Jam XI’s Arshad Nabi was best goalkeeper, and top scorer Amin Chottu (Salar Welfare Centre) received Rs 5000 individual prizes each. Also rewarded were organising committee chairman Fateh Muhammad Baloch (DFA Malir) and secretary Riaz Ahmed with cell phones.

The event was attended by various football officials from across the Districts of Karachi as well as Sindh FA.