FC Rovers to host Engro Vopak League from 29 January

FC Rovers logo

The Karachi Engro Vopak Football League 2012 begins from 29 January 2012 at Jam Stadium in Malir, with FC Rovers (Malir Cantt) hosting the event. The opening fixture features FC Rovers face Dilbod Mohammadan (Malir) at 3:30 PM kick off.

The tournament’s organising secretary Riaz Ahmed said that 12 teams from across Karachi City district will feature in league, divided into 2 groups of 6 teams each.

Group A has hosts FC Rovers, Dilbod Mohammadan, Burma Mohammadan (Korangi), Irfan Memorial (Landhi), Young Tughlaq (Lyari), and Janbaz Sports (Kemari). Group B has Jam XI (Malir), Salaar Welfare Centre (Malir) , Azam Sports (Drigh Road), Sindh Muslim (Gizri), Mauripur Azad, and Askani Brothers (Baldia Town).

After a single-league format group stage, the top 4 sides from each group qualify for quarter-finals stage of the Engro Vopak League. Engro Vopak will provide each participating team with top-quality full kits. The tournament winning side will earn Rs 50,000 prize with runners-up getting Rs 25,000, while players and referees will also get individual prizes for their respective performances in the tournament.

The tournament organising committee is headed by Wing Cmdr (Retd) Noor Ullah Khan, with Major Asif Ishaq, Gulab Baloch (President, DFA South), Rahim Bakhsh Baloch (Secretary, DFA West), chairman Fateh Muhammad Baloch (vice president Sindh FA, president DFA Malir), coordinator Khalid Majeed, organising secretary Riaz Ahmed, technical committee chairman ex-international Zafar Iqbal, members ex-international Saleem Patni, Muhammad Umar, FIFA referee Iqbal Jr., and Saleem Arif.