Karachi Football Round-up

Karachi football league champions Baloch Youth Garden beat Kalri Star (Lyari) 3-2 in a tough contest to win the All-Karachi Mama Bakhshi Muhammad Yaqoob Memorial Football Tournament final held on 1 August 2011 at Khadwi Ground, Karachi and hosted by Sindh Baloch FC. The final was a repeat of the 2010-11 Karachi Football League quarter-final clash between the two sides, with Baloch Youth Garden winning the tie once again.

Baloch Youth Garden vs Kalri Star (KFL 2010-11)

In the semi-finals, Baloch Youth beat Sharafi Mohammadan and Kalri Star beat Sajidi Mohammadan with similar 1-0 scorelines to set their final clash. Sarmad Jaffar gave Baloch Youth the lead after 13 minutes, with Shoaib Qasim doubling it 4 minutes later. However, Kalri Star made it 2-1 just before half-time through M Asif. In 2nd half, Kalri Star equalised in 55th minute through striker Fareed Baloch. But Baloch Youth stunned the Lyari side just 2 minutes before the final whistle when Sarmad Jaffar scored his second of the game as his side ran away winners of the final 3-2 in sensational fashion.

The match was attended by chief guest Muhammad Raeesi (Municipal Commissioner, Karachi District South) who met the two teams and referees at half time, and then presented prizes to the two finalists. Others present were Fateh Muhammad Baloch (DFA Malir President), Jan Muhammad Baloch (Sindh FA secretary), Shahid Taj (DFA Malir secretary), Gulab Baloch (DFA South president), Murad Bakhsh (DFA South vice president), Dr Abdul Hameed (DFA West vice president), Rahim Bakhsh Baloch, Riaz Ahmed journalist, Syed Usman Shah (DFA East vice presidents), Saleem Patni, M Shamim (DFA Central vice presidents), Hameedullah Khan (DFA Central secretary), Khalid Majeed et al.


The Pak Shaheen Ground in Hundred Quarters, Korangi (Karachi) witnessed the final of the All-Karachi Naseer Ahmed Memorial Football Tournament held between hosts Pak Shaheen FC (Korangi) and Karachi Kickers FC (Korangi). Karachi Kickers had beaten Irfan Memorial FC (Landhi) 1-0 while Pak Shaheen beat Landhi Star 4-1 in the semi-finals to set their final clash.

Karachi Kickers won the final 2-1 in a close encounter. Karachi Kickers took the lead after 21 minutes through midfielder Abdul Aziz but Pak Shaheen equalised just before the break through Javed. In 2nd half, the match tempo increased and one decisive goal was scored by Muhammad Tahir in 55th minute to give Karachi Kickers an unassailable lead till the end of the match. Referees were Ejaz Hussain, Saleem Raja, Riaz Ahmed, Muhammad Kamran, and match commissioner Sher Muhammad.

The match was attended by chief guest Gul Faraz Khan (President, NBP Officers Association) who met both finalists at half time and handed out prizes and trophies at the end of the match. He expressed his support towards using sports of properly tackling ongoing violence and tensions across Karachi, to ensure peace, harmony, and brotherhood across the city. M Rahim (senior vice president, DFA East) also presided over the ceremony and announced that in the coming month a contact office will be established at the old DFA East premises in Korangi Dhai that will be dedicated to cause of addressing problems affecting football clubs in the Korangi and Landhi areas and keeping in constant touch with the DFA authorities. Others in attendance were various officials from many Karachi DFAs, journalists, former players, and a large crowd.