Karachi & Nawabshah Football Round-up

The Korangi Star Ground hosted the final of the All-Karachi Abdur Rehman Qureshi Memorial Football Tournament, in which a total of 48 teams had taken part in a knock-out format. Young Azizabad FC (DFA Central) beat Irfan Memorial FC (Landhi) 1-0 thanks to Ain-ul-Haq’s goal from a corner kick by Ali in 40th minute to win the final. Young Azizabad and Irfan Memorial had previously beaten Burma Mohammadan (Korangi) and Sharafi Mohammadan respectively in the semi-finals.

Referees were M Salam, M Tasleem, and Ejaz Ahmed, while match commissioner was M Kamran. The final was attended by former Administrator of Landhi Town, Muhammad Sami Khan, with the final ceremony being presided over by Muhammad Rahim, senior vice president DFA East. Other guests were Irfan Memorial president Riaz Ahmed, DFA East vice president Syed Usman Shah, various DFA East members, FIFA referee Ejaz Hussain et al.

The chief guest presented the teams with prizes and praised the organisation of the tournament. He also vowed to help support the organisation of a 32 team Karachi tournament in September. M Rahim talked about the continued problems faced by football clubs across Karachi and expressed his disappointment in not seeing their problems being solved appropriately. Ex-secretary DFA East, Arshad Ali Hashmi, also joined in wth M Rahim stating that the problems faced by clubs from Korangi and Landhi can only be solved with joint efforts.

Municipal School Ground, Nawabshah witnessed 7 matches of the Abdus Sattar Benefit Football Tournament hosted by Shaheen FC (Nawabshah). Moment FC Blue beat King Baloch 3-0 with goals from Shabaz (2) and Tahir. Moment FC beat Shaheen Sports 1-0 with a goal from Salman Qureshi. Young Baloch beat Jhoolay Lal 1-0 with goal from Fida Hussain. Young Baloch also beat Pak Sports 2-0 with a brace from Rashid Baloch. Firdous FC beat Aslam Azad FC 2-0 with goals from Saeed Jatoi. Jhoolay Lal then beat Pak Spots 1-0 with a goal from Rawal. PML-N representative Shaukat Ali Jatt was chief guest. Referees were Jalal Azam, Fida Hussain, Rashid Baloch, commissioner Abdus Sattar Baloch.