Karachi Football Round-up

The District Football Referees Association (DFRA) for Karachi Zonal FA Central announced its elected panel following the completion of DFRA elections in a Central Zone general congress meeting attended by various senior referees as well as the general secretaries of Pakistan Football Referees Association (PFRA) and Sindh Football Referees Association (SFRA) in Ahmed Ali and Qamar Yar Khan respectively. Also present was Abdul Malik Khan, Sindh member of the PFF Executive Committee, and Central Zone president Aqeel Tazeem Naqvi.

It was announced that FIFA Referee Ibrar Hussain is Chairman, Saleem Uddin president, Hosam Uddin vice-president, Muhammad Shamim general secretary, Muhammad Saleem joint secretary, Ismail Mansoori treasurer, while Ehsan Ali, Akhtar Shah, Mutahir Hussain, and Arif Hussain general congress members of DFRA Central Zone, Karachi. All elected members were congratulated by officials for securing their new posts and vowed to fully cooperate with the referees in upcoming football activities.

Hosted by Hussaini FC (Central Zone) at Hussaini Ground in G-11 New Karachi, the All-Karachi Muhammad Ishaq Khatri Memorial Football Tournament 2011 witnessed the results of two matches on 3rd and 4th June 2011.

On 3rd June, Gharib Shah Union (Zone South) beat United Sports (Central Zone) 6-5 on penalties after an exciting 3-3 tie at end of normal time. Gharib Shah Union took the lead through Yaqoob (15′) but Nauman equalised for United Sports in 20th minute. Tehseen gave Gharib Shah 2-1 lead in 10th minute of 2nd half but United Sports equalised again 2 minutes later through Faraz. Nadir again gave Gharib Shah Union the lead but United Sports’ Mustafa equalised soon after as the game finished 3-3. However, Gharib Shah Union held their nerve in shoot-out to win 6-5 in the end and go through to next round. Referees were Babar Khan, Muhammad Farooq, and Muhammad Imran while M. Bilal Patni was match commissioner.

On 4th June, Irfan Memorial (Landhi) beat Ghausia Sports (Central Zone) 3-1 to qualify for next round. Fazal Baloch scored a brilliant hat-trick for Irfan Memorial while Muhammad Rehan scored once for losing side. The game also saw some great goalkeeping by Ghausia Sports’ M. Amin. The match was witnessed by tournament organising committee’s Sabir Irshadi, Muhammad Hassan Ghanchi, ex-international Saleem Patni, technical committee’s Imran Adam Jan, media coordinator Mohammed Nizam, M. Sadiq Khatri, Ibn-e-Abbas, vice chairman Central Zone M. Shamim. et al.