AKU Championship: NED, Ziauddin, Hamdard, MAJU record wins

Organised by the Aga Khan University (AKU) Sports & Rehabilitation Centre at the AKU Football Ground, the 9th AKU Inter-University Football Tournament 2011 saw the results 5 games in Day 7 of its competition on Sunday, 10 April 2011.

In Group ‘C’, IBA United held Sir Syed University of Engineering & Technology (SSUET) 1-1. After a goal-less first half, Hunbal bin Sohail gave IBA United the lead in 45th minute, which Kamran Aslam of SSUET equalised barely 4 minutes later. Both sides earned 1 point each with the scores remaining tied at the end.

In Group ‘D’, Ziauddin University (ZU) romped to a 7-0 win over Liaquat National Medical College (LNMC). ZU’s main star was Shoaib Ahmed who scored a brilliant hat-trick (1′, 34′, 37′) to register the eighth hat-trick of the on-going tournament. Talha Chaudhry (33′ and 35′), Syed Ali Bazil (1′) and Asad Sheikh (36′) also scored for ZU in the game.

Another Group ‘D’ encounter saw Hamdard University (HU) beat PNEC-NUST 3-1. Yasir Lashkari gave Hamdard the lead after just 1 minute, with Sir Syed scoring Hamdard’s second just a minute after Yasir’s goal. The score was 2-0 in HU’s favour at half time. Shazi Tahir managed to score for PNEC-NUST in 38th minute but Yasir Lashkari scored his second of the game in 43rd minute that made Hamdard win 3-1 at the end.

In Group ‘A’, Muhammad Ali Jinnah University (MAJU) scored a 2-0 win over Jinnah Medical & Dental College (JMDC) after 0-0 score at half time. Hamza Ahmed scored both the goals for MAJU in 50th and 54th minutes.

In the other Group ‘A’ clash, defending champions NED University scored an easy 6-0 win over PAF-KIET as they continued their great form in the competition. Areeb Ali (3′ and 24′), Rafay Fahim (8′), Jaleed Aslam (7′) and Khurram Shakeel (26′) gave NED an imposing 5-0 lead at half time. Rafay Fahim scored his second of the game in 2nd half (42′) to complete the easy 6-0 scoreline for NED.

The matches were supervised by Referees Naseer Umar, Khalid Mumtaz, M. Yousuf, and Imran Hussain, with Official Scorer Sajjad Akbar and Match Commissioners Munawar Khan and Qamar Ali.