Karachi United Youth Football League 2010: North Nazimabad deny first win for Malir

[Source: Riaz Ahmed, veteran football journalist]

North Nazimabad Centre’s 12 year old sensation Shabbir Ullah snatched a draw for his team in the dying moments of their game against Malir Centre at the National Soccer Academy Ground (Paposh). Malir were looking good for getting their first win of their Karachi United Youth Football League 2010 campaign with a 1-0 lead in first half but Man of the Match Shabbir Ullah goal spoiled the results and both teams earned a point each for a draw.

Malir took the 1-0 lead in 14th minute when defender Mukhtar’s powerful shot could not be stopped by N.Nazimabad goalie Matiullah as the ball found the back of the net. Malir wasted a few more chances in the 1st half but their strikers Sanaullah, Faheem, and Waqar failed to capitalise as North Nazimabad looked shaky till half time. In 2nd half, North Nazimabad strike force of Sameer Chandio, Umair and Asad missed some glorious chances to tie the game as Malir were holding on for their first win of the campaign.

However barely 5 minutes before the final whistle, 12 year old midfielder Shabbir Ullah’s speculative shot from 20 yards out beat Malir goalie Wasim as it found the back of the net to tie the scoreline 1-1. The match finished as a draw when senior national referee Habib Ullah blew the final whistle bringing a sigh of relief from North Nazimabad bench while Malir left the arena bitterly disappointed in not getting their first win.

Match commissioner was Abdul Karim (Chairman Referees and Member of Central Zone). The result leaves North Nazimabad top of table with 10 points from 5 games and Malir Centre a lowly 1 point from 4 games.

The guests witnessing the game were Imran Ali (Karachi United Foundation, Director Academies), Adeel Rizki (Karachi United Foundation, Director Coaching), Arshad Jamal (KUFC Head Coach), former internationals Fareed Majeed, M. Ilyas, Mohsin Shah, Syed Sultan Ali, and Chairman of Futsal Association Karachi Muhammad Asif Khan etc.