University Club Faisalabad and Al Hilal qualify for PFF League 2010

Lahore, 12 November: Faisalabad’s University Club and Arifwala’s Al Hilal Club proved their strength and once again became qualifiers from Punjab Football Association when they brushed aside City Clubs of Faisalabad and Lahore respectively in the Pakistan Football Federation (PFF) League 2010 Punjab Zone Play-offs at Punjab Stadium, Lahore last night.

PFF League – Tier II competition of PFF – went into movement in 2004, under directives of Pakistan Football Federation (PFF) ‘s President Makhdoom Syed Faisal Saleh Hayat, in order to supply two teams for ensuing Pakistan Premier Football League (PPFL) and the honors went into hands of NBP and PPWD in 2004. Midfielder Saeed Qureshi’s lone goal gave host Railways 1-0 win over KESC at Railway Stadium as both teams qualified to top Division from 2005 edition. PTV annexed the 2006 edition by beating PMC 4-0 at Faisalabad. The 2007 edition was decided after Super-Six with PEL and Pakistan Steel finishing first and second respectively at Islamabad. The top two teams in 2008 edition were PAF and Baloch FC while SSGC got rid of Young Blood 1-0 in final of 2009 edition.

Both Faisalabad’s University Club and Arifwala’s Al Hilal moved into PFF League 2010 as finalists of Punjab Inter Division Club Championship at College Ground, Faisalabad Road, Jaranwala, with Uniervsity outfit, under the coaching tips of Muhammad Habib, outkicking Al Hilal Club 6-5 on penalties

But PFF ordered the play-offs as the Jaranwala event failed to saw the presence of District League winners of Lahore and Faisalabad.To give the fare chance to all Districts winners teams, PFF had planned to organize play-offs between two champion teams provided through Punjab Inter Division Club Championship and two Districts champions teams of the major cities of the Province.

The first Play-Off saw University team getting walk-over decisions over Faisalabad’s City FC. They had to reach the venue at 11 AM but they failed to do so and match Commissioner Naveed Butt had no alternative but to issue walk over decision. Teams not reaching the venue at given Kick-Off time will be required to Forfeit that match with 0-3 scoreline.

Later on Pakpattan’s Al-Hilal FC gave no room to City Club of Lahore and managed 2-1 win. The referees for the play-offs were Waheed Murad, Irshad Ul Haq, Zubair Shahzad, Shams Pervaiz, Rana Jehanzaib, Afzal Ahmed.