National Afridi win Rahim Wali Football Tournament trophy

Finalist teams National Afridi & Chanesar Blue with referees

National Afridi from Baldia Town beat KASB League champions Chanesar Blue 3-1 to win the All Karachi Rahim Wali Roghani Memorial Football Tournament. National Afridi goalscorers were strikers Haq Nawaz, man of the final Majid Baloch and Sher Gul while Chanesar’s lone goalscorer was player of the tournament Mehmood Lassi.

A total of 96 clubs from across Karachi participated in this knock-out format cup competition that had been consistently taking place for last 3 and a half months. National Afridi and Chanesar Blue had previously beaten Pirabad Golden and Azad Shaheen respectively in their semi-finals. The Badayuni College Ground in Banaras area of Karachi hosted the final.

National Afridi overwhelmed Chanesar Blue straight from kick off with their fast aggressive style of play. Haq Nawaz scored the opener from a 20 yard shot past Chanesar goalkeeper Asif in 11th minute. Majid Baloch made it 2-0 in 27th minute after a

Action from Rahim Wali Tournament Final

superb pass from Ibrahim Gul. At half time National Afridi were in control 2-0 up. In second half, the match remained in National Afridi’s favour as striker Sher Gul made it 3-0 in 56th minute after displaying some brilliant skill that left the Chanesar Blue defence in tatters. Mehmood Laasi scored Chanesar’s solitary goal to make it 3-1 in 61st minute. Sher Gul could have made it 4-1 in final moments of the game but his shot just fizzed past the post. The game ended 3-1 with National Afridi crowned as deserved champions. Refree for the final was Muhammad Rizwan alongside assistants Abdul Malik and Muhammad Imran while match commissioner was Ikram Uddin.

National Afridi captain Rehmat Ali lifted the winners trophy while Chanesar Blue captain Ghulam Abbas was given the runners-up trophy by the chief guest in attendance.

Dilbar Wali Roghani presents finalist teams' captains with respective trophies

Dilbar Wali Roghani, son of late Rahim Wali Roghani, was the chief guest for the final as he distributed awards to both the finalists, commended the tournament’s success to its organising committee and hosts Shahbaz Green FC Banaras, as well as presenting a donation of Rs 30,000. He praised how the tournament had rekindled the memory of his late father, a man who had been a vital member of the local community and who had helped promote peace, togetherness, healthcare and education in his area.

Also in attendance were Secretary West Zone Rahim Bakhsh Baloch, Secretary South Zone Murad Bakhsh Baloch, Shahbaz Green FC chairman Umar Zadah, secretary Mesan Zadah, Chairman Referees West Zone Chaudhry Israr, Secretary Referees Central Zone Khalid Majeed, Haji Sher Wali, Qadeem Khan, Ghulam Shabbir, Zakir Khan, Gulfarosh Khan, Liaquat Ali Shah, Qayyum Laasi, and veteran sports journalist Riaz Ahmed etc. The chief guest also promised to those in attendance in making this tournament an annual event from this year onwards as a result in memory of Rahim Wali Roghani.

[SOURCE: Riaz Ahmed]