National Women Football Championship 2010 WAPDA-Young Rising Star final on Thursday

Lahore, 4 August: Pakistan Football Federation (PFF)’s President Makhdoom Syed Faisal Saleh Hayat, MNA, will act as Chief Guest when final of sixth National Women Football Championship will be played at Aabpara’s Jinnah Stadium in Islamabad. 2006 National Champion Pakistan WAPDA will face energetic Young Rising Star of Rawalpindi, Gold medallist in 2008, in the final on Thursday, 5 August (4.30 PM Kick –off). Earlier third place will be held between Islamabad and Sports Sciences (3.45 PM).
Both the semi-finals were decided today with WAPDA and Rising Star brushing aside Islamabad and Sports Sciences respectively. The tense matches were locked at full time and extended time was required to resolve the issue. Young Rising Star regained spot in final for the first time after 2008 when they recovered to beat Science girls.After 0-0 first half, Sports Science took 55th minute lead through Ayesha Hassan. But striker Malaika Noor saved them from real defeat with 68th minute goal and hammered the winning goal in the 91st minute when her drive from the corner drifted directly into the cage. The Match Commissioner was Imtiaz Ali Shah while Shafaat Habib acted as referee, supported on the line by Tauqir Ahmed, Arsalan Sharif and Asifa Naheed Butt (4th Official).

WAPDA and Islamabad also played out scoreless draw in the normal time and scoreline was also same in extra time. During penalty shoot-out session WAPDA clinched the issue 4-3. Skipper Anila Khan, Nadia Bhatti, Rafia Perveen and Naila Rani fired goals for winners while losers replied through Mejzgaan Orakzai, Samantha Daut and Abeeha Hyder. The Match Commissioner was Abdul Shakoor while Waheed Murad acted as referee, supported on the line by Irshad Ul Haq, Afzal Ahmed and Zehra Abbas (4th Official).

Previous Champions :

2005 Punjab, 2006 Islamabad, 2007 Sports Sciences 2008 Young Rising Star, 2009 Malavan Bandar Anzali (Iran).