DFA Malir win All-Pakistan Benazir Cup in Khairpur

The All-Pakistan Mohtarma Benazir Bhutto Shaheed Football Cup in Khairpur reached a gripping climax at the Muslim Sports Ground. Karachi’s DFA Malir edged Gulshan-e-Ittehad (Korangi) 1-0 thanks to a goal from Muhammad Saeed to win the final and be crowned as tournament champions.

Gulshan-e-Ittehad played bravely but they were completely overwhelmed by DFA Malir that has over a 100 Karachi clubs as affiliated members. The final was attended by Chief Minister Sindh, Syed Qaim Ali Shah (PPP) who awarded winning trophy and Rs 1 lakh cash prize to winners DFA Malir, while Gulshan-e-Ittehad got runners-up prize of Rs 50,000.

The CM Sindh praised DFA Khairpur and Khairpur District Sports Committee for organising a splending tournament in memory of late Prime Minister of Pakistan, Mohtarma Benazir Bhutto. CM Sindh offered his full support to local authorities for any future projects.

Also in attendance were Sindh FA vice presidents Yaqoob Ali (Sukkur), Fateh Muhammad Baloch (Karachi, DFA Malir), as well as Hasan Raza, Din Muhammad Kalhoro, Syed Ali Madad Shah, Master Riasat Ali, Imdad Ali Shah et al.

Previously, DFA Malir had beaten Malik Nawaz FC (Jamal Din Wali) 2-1 with goals from M Shehzad, Hafeez Baloch (DFA Malir) and Yamin (Malik Nawaz FC) in the semi-finals. Gulshan-e-Ittehad had also reached the final after edging hosts DFA Khairpur Blue 1-0 thanks to a goal from M Yaqoob.

Officials from Karachi’s DFA East, DFA Central, Karachi United Football Foundation etc congratulated the finalists for their splendid performances.