PFF Congress, ExCo for 22 September

Pakistan, Lahore, Wednesday, September 19, 2012

Pakistan Football Federation (PFF) is holding meetings of its Congress and Executive Committee on 22nd September, 2012 at PFF Secretariat, Lahore. The President PFF, Makhdoom Sayed Faisal Saleh Hayat will chair both the meetings.

According to the press release issued here by PFF, all the Congress and Executive Committee members have been invited to attend the meetings.

It is likely that PFF Calendar of activities along with its estimated budget, audited statements of account, approval of financial statements and approval/decision on the recommendations made by the Standing Committees is likely to be deliberated.

Moreover, the Congress will also discuss PFF stance on the implementation of revised sports policy-2005.

The News adds:

KARACHI: Pakistan Football Federation’s (PFF) Congress and Executive Committee meetings will be held on Saturday at the FIFA Football House in Lahore.

PFF chief Faisal Saleh Hayat will chair both the meetings. The Executive Committee meeting will be followed by the Congress in which the house will discuss the federation’s stance regarding the implementation of the national sports policy.

The PFF has filed a writ petition against the policy, especially its tenure restriction clause, which affects its president, who is serving for the third four-year term.

The world football governing body, FIFA, does not allow political interference in the affairs of its units and tenure restriction is alien to it.

The government will have to face problems if it imposes the clause on the PFF president as it could prompt FIFA to ban Pakistan.

Football in Pakistan is being run with the assistance of FIFA and Asian Football Confederation who have spent millions of dollars on the infrastructure in Pakistan. The country also gets around Rs50 million annually for other expenditures.

The meetings will discuss activities calendar, budget, audited statements of accounts, financial statements and recommendations made by the Standing Committees.